The First CSA Share…and a Disclaimer

First, the disclaimer. This week is going to be a bit different from how these posts will go in the future. Tomorrow, I have a full day of faculty meetings and am going straight from school to the airport. Currently, I’m in the middle of packing up. I’m heading to the Midwest for my dear cousin’s wedding and will be out of town until early next week. I wanted to share what we got in our first pick-up, but since I won’t be here to cook it, I am not going to be posting recipes or finished products for this round. Luckily, my husband will be home to eat all this delightful produce. So I hope you enjoy checking out what we got and will join me next week for our next round!

I opened up our bright green crate to find a delightful pile of green!

And more garlic scapes! Nice, fresh garlic scapes, which look and smell delicious.

On the left are pea tendrils. Apparently the whole pea plant is edible: shoots, leaves, flowers, all of it. I’ve never had pea tendrils, shoots but not tendrils, and am looking forward to trying them. On the right, Chinese cabbage, yum.

Some delightful looking beets and Hakurei turnips.

The complete set: garlic scapes, beets, Hakurei turnips, pea tendrils, Chinese cabbage, Romaine lettuce, spinach, snap peas. All in all, quite a delightful haul, and I know my husband will enjoy chowing down on it while I’m away.

I’ll be back to regular posting on Wednesday of next week. If you miss me, go to your local farmers market and leave your finds in the comments!

~CM

One response

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Haul « The Seasonal Epicure

Leave a Reply

