Hooray for Variety!

As you saw in my sneak preview, we got quite the variety today in our CSA share. It’s great to get farther into the summer and the growing season. When I went to pick up the share yesterday, the first thing I noticed was garlic scapes (!) in the swap box (!!!!) and I knew they would be mine! The only question was what I would give up to have them. I decided on Romaine lettuce since I have the hardest time taking down salad greens.

So, we got two bunches of scapes (!!) and a large bunch of fresh green onions.

That is one BIG fennel bulb and fronds!

Summer squash season has begun! We got zucchini, kousa squash, and pickling cucumbers.

We got another lovely bunch of beets!

That is some seriously rainbow rainbow chard!

Final tally: 2 bunches of garlic scapes, one giant fennel bulb w/ fronds, one bunch of rainbow chard, 4 beets w/ greens, one zucchini, 2 pickling cucumbers, 3 kousa squash, one bunch of fresh green onions, a bag of peas, and a partridge in a pear tree. (Okay, we didn’t get that last one…)

Looking forward to it cooling off a bit so I can do some more fun cooking!

~CM

Leave a Reply

