Best Breads So Far

I have been having a blast playing with my breadmaker so far. It has worked consistently well and I decided to pull together my favorite breadmaker recipes that I’ve tried. To be honest, every bread that I’ve tried so far, I’ve loved. But, I’ve narrowed it down to the top three. Now, I don’t know much about breadmaking, so I’m not sure how these would translate to regular baking, but I know they’d be tasty!

(For each, add the ingredients in the order recommended by your breadmaker.)

#1: Portuguese Sweet Bread

So light and fluffy!

(Makes a 1 1/2 lb loaf)

I found the recipe here.

2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons dry milk (or 1/2 cup milk)

1/4 cup sugar

2 1/2 cups bread flour

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 egg plus 1 egg yolk, beaten

2 tablespoons butter, melted

3/4 cup water (1/4 if using milk)

1 1/2 teaspoons dry active yeast

This bread is so sweet and delicious. It just came out of the breadmaker and takes butter quite well. I’m sure it will be delicious toast or, even better, French toast!

#2: Light Oat Bread

Perfect for sandwiches!

(Makes a 2lb loaf)

I found the recipe here and adapted it using suggestions from the comments.

2 cups bread flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup quick oats

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons butter

1 1/4 cup cold water

1 1/2 teaspoons dry active yeast

This bread was so nice and chewy. Perfect for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

#3: Anadama

I don’t have a picture of this loaf, yet, but it was a delicious and hearty bread. I took the recipe directly from my bread maker’s manual (I have the Panasonic SD-YD250).

(Makes a 2lb loaf)

3 3/4 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons dry milk

2 1/2 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup cornmeal

2 tablespoons molasses

13 1/2 fluid oz. water

1 1/2 teaspoon dry active yeast

Do you have a favorite bread recipe? Leave it in the comments and let me know if you try any of these!

~CM

Leave a comment