A Taco Kick

I guess I’m on a taco kick…that and I have the ingredients in the kitchen and am trying to use up our staples before our move next week (!!). I can not WAIT to be in our new place…a nice big kitchen, a back deck on which to barbecue with our as-of-yet imaginary grill, AND central air. Anyway, back on topic, I made another delicious lunch of some simple tacos. This time I was cooking just for myself and threw things together rather than using a recipe.

I used one ear of the corn from our CSA share this week, and it stole the show. So sweet and fresh and creamy! Pretty too!

I cut the corn off the cob and sauteed it with about 1/2 cup of drained and rinsed black beans, another Fresno chili pepper, some cumin, olive oil, and salt.

Meanwhile, I put two corn tortillas on a plate and microwaved them with a bit of reduced fat shredded sharp cheddar. Once the beans had softened up a bit, I scooped them onto the tortillas and topped them with a dollop of sour cream.

The sweetness of the corn and the bite of the pepper worked perfectly with the cumin. I am pretty sure I ate these two tacos in record time!

I’m planning another experiment with my favorite veggie for either tonight or tomorrow so check back soon!

~CM

Leave a Reply

