And Another Soup

It has been COLD here in the Boston area. Snow. Power outages (not at my homestead). Freezing trick-or-treaters. So today, when school was cancelled (no power there), I decided it was time for another soup. This one comes from yours truly’s brain, so forgive the lack of a recipe. Basically, you can make this soup with anything you want. It’s a great way to use up veggies that are about to turn (or just have turned). I’ve decided to call this version Super Soup because of the nice variety of veggies and vitamins (and because I have the sense of humor of a 10 year old…)

Start with equal parts butter and olive oil in the bottom of a large stock pot (I used about 1 tablespoon of each). Heat over medium. Add celery, leeks, and garlic (or onions, or shallots, or any combination thereof). Cook for about 5-8 minutes, until they start to caramelize.


Next, I added 1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped into bite size pieces. Cook a few more minutes, until the sweet potato starts to brown.


Cover the whole combo with broth (I used chicken because I had it on hand, but I’d prefer vegetable for this type of soup). I use a mixture of broth and water, because I think it’s a bit too potent otherwise. For this batch, I used 5 cups broth and 2 cups water. Cover the pot and bring to a boil.

When the soup is boiling, add beans (I used beautiful fresh cranberry beans). Leave uncovered and bring back to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes. Add broccoli and simmer until the beans are soft (about 15 more minutes).

Aren’t they pretty?

Season with salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy with a nice piece of crusty bread, or if you’re like me and out of nice crusty bread, with a plate of crackers and goat Gouda.

 


Happy November, everyone! Stay warm!

~CM

Leave a Reply

