Late Fall Vegetables

After much debate, mostly centered around whether I’d still be too busy to make use of so many vegetables, we signed up for the Late Fall share at Farmer Dave’s. We were a little hesitant because it is a full-sized share rather than the small one we got over the summer. My love for squash and root vegetables, however, eventually swayed us to sign up. Today was the first week and I. Am. So. Glad. We. Signed. Up!!!!

There is so much great variety this week. I’m cheating and giving you just a thumbnail of the whole bunch because the only picture I took is blurry. Oops! I was cooking a quick dinner after getting home from the last soccer game of the season (I’m assistant coaching JV girls’ soccer this year) and apparently didn’t look at the image carefully enough.

I know this was the best decision. Especially because we got our first harvest of my all time favorite veggie…drum roll please…

Brussels sprouts!!! I love these little gems. If I had to pick only one vegetable to eat for the rest of my life, it would be these! (Sorry, beets, you’re a close second but take too long to cook!)

I am going to let the rest of these late fall beauties speak for themselves. I can’t wait to see what we get next week!

Radishes and purple top turnips

Eggplants

Carrots and beets (further confirming just how much of a nerd I am, I just noticed how creepy that beet root is and thought to myself, ‘That looks just like the front paw of the aye-aye, a funny little lemur)

Parsley and chives

Sweet potatoes (fresh out of the ground), butternut and acorn squash

What is your favorite late fall vegetable?

~CM

2 responses

  1. Beautiful selection! How many weeks do your fall pick ups last? Our last regular pickup was last week for the season. However I signed up for a November box and a December box this year. Really looking forward to using those up in both holiday meals! And Brussel Sprouts? LOVE them too. Funny, it’s the only veggie I have successfully been able to get ALL of the kids to eat like candy. They get such a bad rap. Loving your blog, I put it in my google reader šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Luanne! Our last regular pickup was last week also. The late-fall share goes for 7 weeks. Because it’s a bigger share, I’m hoping to do a lot of freezing of veggies to get us through the long, dark, New England winter! My favorite way to cook Brussels sprouts is in a cast iron skillet with just a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper over medium heat until they caramelize. Yum! Thanks for reading!

      ~CM

Leave a Reply

